Ember Queen (Ash Princess #3) // Review and Giveaway!

BOOK INFORMATION

Ember Queen (Ash Princess Trilogy #3)

by Laura Sebastian

Publisher: Delacorte Books For Young Readers

Release Date: February 4th 2020

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fiction, High Fantasy, Science Fiction,

Magic, Epic Fantasy

 

SYNOPSIS:

The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York
Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.
Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court.
But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.
The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her
hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister.

 

BOOK LINKS

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39216077-ember-queen
Amazon: https://amzn.to/2SsOQVQ
Bookdepository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Ember-Queen-Laura-Sebastian/9781509855162?ref=grid-view&qid=1581197022750&sr=1-1
Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ember-queen-laura-sebastian/1132077922?ean=9780593176863#/
iTunes: https://books.apple.com/au/book/ember-queen-ash-princess-3/id1487756107
Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/ember-queen-3

Google Books: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Ember_Queen?id=28SdDwAAQBAJ&hl=en_US

BOOK REVIEW

My journey with Ash Princess trilogy started when the first installment of the series—Ash Princess—was published back in 2018. At that time, I was drawn in by the gorgeous cover and as the story goes, this trilogy has one of the best YA Fantasy book covers I’ve ever seen. I wasn’t a fan of the first book because I think my expectation was too high so it’s still a good book. But when I read Lady Smoke, I was just in love with everything. I was totally engrossed. Then, here we are, at the end of Theo’s journey. Was I ready? Obviously, not. Did I love it? Well, you gotta read my review to find out.

Ember Queen picks up right after the end of Lady Smoke. Theo realizes she has changed into something else, something more powerful. Though, with heavy heart, she acknowledges the fact that she isn’t as strong as the Kaiserin. This revelation brings her to fight harder for Astrea and her people. With her friends, she’s going to take back what’s rightfully belongs to her. She is Queen Theodora Eirene Houzzara and she is the Queen of Flame and Fury.

I just feel devastated when I finished reading Ember Queen. Even though I didn’t come to love the trilogy until Lady Smoke, it was still hard to say goodbye to the characters. Guess that’s what always going to happen when the last book of the series comes out, huh?

Okay, I just need to say that this was a great finale. Things were going out smoothly and perfectly. Some surprising plot twists here and there. A little romance scenes that tugged at my heart BECAUSE THEY’RE ADORABLE. Heart-wrenching moments that managed to squeeze a tear, or maybe two and three, out of my eyes. Magic fighting scenes that were powerful and jaw-dropping. Ember Queen sucked me right from the very first page until the last one.

What I love about this trilogy in general and this book, in particular, was that it always focused on important matters. Meaning, while I love getting more romance scenes, Laura Sebastian stole my heart by gave me plotting and fighting scenes instead. It was appropriate since what Theo was doing is nothing small. I mean, trying to take over your crown and nation under the tight grasp of your ex heart’s sister is a lot to handle for a seventeen-year-old young lady.

The second thing that I adore was how the words always succeed to turned me into a crying mess in EVERY. SINGLE. BOOK. Imagine how tired I am. In all seriousness, I really love how the stories twist and ruining my heart. What Theo was facing and the sacrifices she made felt so raw and real. It was one of the best experiences I had in my whole journey as a reader.

quote1

Oh, I can’t write a review without mentioning the characters. They became one of the crews that I hold dear. They have perfect chemistry and great development. Their friendship is beautiful and precious I LOVE THEM.

Theo was that rare YA character that isn’t all moody and uncertain. She was one of the strong characters that I know. She knew what’s her responsibility and doing her best to do whatever she has to do, even though she has to take some hard choices along the way. She was so brave and I truly admire her.

Søren was a character that’s growing on me. I wasn’t fond of him but as the story goes, he has proven to be someone that I liked. He was obviously a much better person than his father. Due to his experience in battle, he has a talent for plotting and that is something that I love to read.

I LOVE ARTEMISIA. She was so relatable and honest. Her sword skill is amazing! Did I genuinely expect something less from her? Jokes on me if that ever happened. I love her viciousness and swagger. She kinda reminded me of Aelinfrom Throne of Glass because IMO they have the same aura and vibes. Though she didn’t like to talk about her feelings, she was a loyal and great friend.

Erik, my boy. He was such a precious human being, everyone please protect him. He was kind, funny, and charismatic. He definitely reminded me of Nikolai Lantsov from Grishaverse. The best brother, friend, and partner everyone could ask for.

Blaise, my heart broke for him. He was so kind and patient like how?? His character development was bittersweet. His moments in Ember Queen turned me into a mess. I didn’t think it’d end like that. I deeply respect him but still, HE DESERVED BETTER.

Honorable mention: Heron, Hoa, Dragonsbane. They’re all great characters. Each of them has a special place in my heart.

Overall, Ember Queen was a remarkable closure to Ash Princess trilogy. It wasn’t perfect but it’s one of my favorite finales. The plot was done marvelously, the writing was beautiful, the characters were incredible. One of the issues with most of the last book of the series is that the ending isn’t satisfying. That wasn’t the case with Ember Queen. The execution had me sitting on the edge of my seat and I forgot my life because I was too absorbed reading this book. I love this series and I still have zero ideas on what I should do with my life after I finished Ember Queen.

If you enjoy YA fantasy, found-family trope, forbidden love, magic, a young woman that’s fighting to take back her throne, awesome characters, great world-building, I recommend you to read Ash Princess trilogy. And if you have read Ash Princess and Lady Smoke but haven’t make a move toward Ember Queen, what are you waiting for?

RATING: 4.25⭐/5

 

AUTHOR INFORMATION

Laura Sebastian was born and raised in South Florida (the Redlands and Key Largo) and has always loved telling stories–many apologies to her little brother who often got in trouble because of them. No copies of her first book, a Cinderella retelling about angels circa 2nd grade, remain. Thankfully.
After getting her BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, she moved to New York City thinking that she would stay for a couple of years before going somewhere better suited for a small-town, sun-loving girl. Five years later, she’s still here and madly in love with it.
When Laura isn’t writing, she’s probably reading, baking cookies or cupcakes, buying more clothes than her overstuffed closet can fit, or forcing her lazy dog  Nevilleto take a walk.
Her debut ASH PRINCESS, the start of a YA fantasy trilogy, will be out April 24th,
2018 from Delacorte (Random House).

AUTHOR LINKS

Website: http://laurasebastianwrites.com/
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15945524.Laura_Sebastian
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sebastian_lk
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lauraksebastian/

 

GIVEAWAY

Want to win a copy of Ember Queen? Click the photo above and follow the rules! Good luck! Open to US only until May 30th.

 

Follow the Blog Tour!

Check out FFBC website or you can also click this link so you won’t miss the Ember Queen blog tour! Check out the Instagram tour as well and get a chance to win a copy of the book ^^

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website at WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: